HOT SUMMER DAY

THE SPEECH

most of my life i dwelt
in a parallel universe
on a lonely planet coloured blue
completely alone

I had thoughts
not mathematically correct
brimming over
with shapes and forms and colours and voices
born of my imagination
all as solid and existent
as if they were real
and good company

i knew what i meant
even with my  fractured
day dream speak

scattered with
unfinished
patterns
sibilant sighs
i understood everything
that came out of me

 

all my life alone on planet blue

until you came along
formed perfectly
and i found myself struggling
with words and feelings
spoken and written
formal and informal
involving complex gestures
using a rough voice alien to me

two of us on planet blue

romance blossomed
faded
into common relationship routines
you demanded
i finish my sentences
tell the truth
in facts and figures
and i didn’t know how
but i’m learning
practicing daily
to precisely utter
with my dying breath

most of my life i dwelt
in a parallel universe
on a lonely planet
coloured blue
completely alone
until i learnt
far too late
to love you

f. yule 2056

 

AAAAHHH…..

spare change on the desk
won’t buy a packet of cigarettes
or soft drink

seven library books
piled on top of the printer
only two were interesting
need returning
today

forms to fill out
for free public transport
and cheap state housing

Avatar’s prayers
printed out
and left in a neat pile
rarely read

he’s in bed
avoiding the heat
or avoiding
everything

i’m dodging bullets
aimed at my brain
from a .38
held in my own hands

and the telephone bill
for two thousand dollars plus
sits on my bed
disputable but unchallenged
and way overdue

f. yule 2010

**********************

THE KITCHEN UTENSIL

she picked up
the kitchen utensil labelled
ALMOST ALWAYS
NEARLY PERFECT
and slowly stirred
inside herself

f. yule 2010

Leave a Reply

